cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to find currentSensorStateData field paths?

nathanperkins
Community Member

I'm trying to use the script editor to make an automation that is conditional on the light level reading from my Eve Motion sensor.

For device.state.SensorState, the state field must be a field path like "currentSensorStateData.SmokeLevel.rawValue", but there's no auto-completion and no listing of the possible values. I have no idea what to put here and it's not clear how to figure it out.

How can you see the possible sensor state fields for a given device?

nathanperkins_0-1688320203408.png

The examples look like:

starters:
- type: device.state.SensorState

device: My Device - Room Name

state: currentSensorStateData.SmokeLevel.currentSensorState

is: high

Ref: https://developers.home.google.com/automations/schema/reference/entity/sht_device/sensor_state_state

20 REPLIES 20

DWB1973
Community Member

I'm not a coder but I was scanning through the scripted automation examples at https://developers.home.google.com/automations/example-scripts and saw a possible (shot in the dark) solution.

currentSensorStateData.BrightnessLevel.currentSensorState

If that doesn't work, then my next guess is that since Google Home is cloud-based, it may prevent the automation from functioning as you intend because (if I understand correctly) luminance level measurements may not be a cloud-to-cloud supported sensor trait, yet.

Reference: https://developers.home.google.com/cloud-to-cloud/traits/sensorstate

For a definitive answer, I recommend that you contact Google Home technical support.

domwhewell
Community Member

@nathanperkinsdid you find an answer? I too am looking to utilize my Light Sensors but seems they are just useless at the moment

sammers
Community Member

Following

domwhewell
Community Member