cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Neat Aware Acct For New Home

Jharrison0086
Community Member

I recently purchased a new home and right around the same time, purchased Nest Aware and now I'm unable to use this service or my Nest Cam at all at the new home because it had been logged into my old home's wifi while setting it up. Is there anything at all that I can do?? I purchased the Google Nest Cam and Nest Aware to keep an eye on my new home while I'm working out of town and now am completely unable to use either because I set it up as I was closing on my home to try to make sure I would be able to rely on it as soon as I moved in. NOW I CAN'T!! PLEASE HELP BECAUSE I HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR MY FULL SUBSCRIPTION & NEED THIS TO WORK!!

5 REPLIES 5

RXShorty
Gold Product Expert
Gold Product Expert

Hi @Jharrison0086 

As the Nest Cam has no WiFi, it cannot connect to Nest Aware anymore.
You should be able to factory reset your camera, this way; you can connect it to the new WiFi.

It is just like setting it up for the first time.
Please check this link on how to factory reset your camera: https://support.google.com/googlenest/answer/9252162

MplsCustomer
Bronze
Bronze

@Jharrison0086 

I don't know if this will help you or not, but the "What you get with a Nest Aware subscription" page below has a "Contact us" link under "Nest Aware Premier Care" that says: "Get 24/7 access to Nest Aware Experts on the Nest Customer Care team. They’re available to answer questions, help you access features, and manage your subscription." Hopefully these "Nest Aware Experts" can transfer your subscription to your new home.

https://support.google.com/googlenest/answer/9233159?hl=en

In order to use your Google Nest cameras on your new Wi-Fi, you should know that Google Nest does not make it easy to update Wi-Fi settings. Their first recommendation, when getting a new router/modem, is to set the network name (SSID) and password to the same values on your old router/modem:

https://support.google.com/googlenest/answer/9223711?hl=en#zippy=%2Ctry-the-same-network-name-and-pa...

If you can't do that, Google Nest's recommendation is to remove the Google Nest device from the Google Nest app or Google Home app while you are still on the old Wi-Fi network and then do a factory reset. Failing to remove the device while on the old Wi-Fi network can lead to a "connected to another account" error when trying to set up your device on the new network. This occurs because the Google Nest install process apparently does not check WHICH account the device is still attached to, and does not realize it's attached to the same account you're trying to add it back to. If you get caught in this dilemma (as many customers have), you may have to contact Google Nest Support so they can override this dilemma:

https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp

Hi folks,

 

Checking in — I hope you've got the answer you're looking for. Let me know if you have more questions in mind. 
 

I appreciate your help here, RXShorty and MplsCustomer.

 

Thanks,

JT

Brad
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi there, 

 

Just checking in to see how the conversation is going. Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns. We'll leave this thread open for a little longer for follow-up questions and concerns. 

 

Best regards, 

Brad

aatienza
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey folks,

 

Just checking in to make sure that you've seen our responses. Please let me know if you have other questions or concerns as I will be locking this in 24 hours if I won't hear back from you again. Feel free to start a new thread and we'll be happy to help.
 

I appreciate the help, JT and Brad.

 

Thanks,

Archie