cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temp sensor requiring nest software update

Gwlawbulldog
Community Member

Hello,

I recently purchased the temperature sensor to go along with My nest learning thermostat, but when I try and connect the sensor it says my thermostat needs a software update. However, my nest says it’s up to date on software updates. Ideas? Thanks!

14 REPLIES 14

Markjosephp
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello Gwlawbulldog,

 

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your inquiry. I'd be happy to take a look into this for you.

 

Let's try the troubleshooting steps here:

 

  1. Try restarting your Nest thermostat and attempting to add your temperature sensor again.
  2. If the same issue persists, disconnect the thermostat from the Wi-Fi network and remove it from the Nest app.
    1. Go to the account connection settings on the thermostat to disconnect it from your network.
  3. Then, add your Nest thermostat to the Nest app.
  4. Once added, set up your temperature sensor again.

 

If it still doesn't work, resetting your Nest thermostat to default should help to make sure it'll get the update that it needs.

 

Let me know if that helps.

 

Thanks,
Mark

EdwardT
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Gwlawbulldog,

 

I wanted to follow up and see if you are still in need of any help. Please let me know if you are still having any trouble from here, as I would be happy to take a closer look and assist you further.

 

Thanks,

Edward

I’ve tried all of those steps, and still no luck. I had planned on trying again tomorrow, to see if I had received any updates 

EdwardT
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Gwlawbulldog,

 

Thanks for the update. Let us know the results once you've tried the steps.

 

Thanks,

Edward

EdwardT
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Gwlawbulldog,

 

It's me again. I wanted to check back in to see if you have other questions and concerns. Feel free to let me know if you do. 

 

Thanks,

Edward

EdwardT
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Gwlawbulldog,

 

I'm just checking in to make sure that you've seen our response. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns as I will be locking this in 24 hours.

 

Thanks,

Edward

Gwlawbulldog
Community Member

I’ve now officially tried it all. What software should I have? It shows 1.3.21/4.0

EdwardT
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Gwlawbulldog,

 

Thanks for the update. We'd like to know more about this. Please fill out this form so we could investigate further.

 

Thanks,

Edward

 

aatienza
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey there,

 

It's us again. Were you able to fill out the form?

 

I appreciate the help, Mark and Edward.

 

Thanks,

Archie

EdwardT
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Gwlawbulldog,

 

I wanted to follow up and see if you are still in need of any help. Please let me know if you are still having any trouble from here, as I would be happy to take a closer look and assist you further.

 

Thanks,

Edward

Still not working. I sent that form in last week, did that help at all?

EdwardT
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Gwlawbulldog,

 

Thanks for the update. We can't seem to find your form. Could you fill it out again and include the link of this thread?

 

Thanks,

Edward

EdwardT
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey Gwlawbulldog,

 

I'm checking back in. Please fill out the form again with your username and the link to this thread so we can proceed to the next steps.

 

Thanks,

Edward

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey there,

I am showing a case has been created for you. Please be on the lookout for an email from our team, and let us know if you have any trouble seeing that. Please be advised that we will be locking the thread in 24 hours.

Best regards,

Jake