cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Nest WiFi Slower than Google WiFi?

mcdonsco
Community Member

I've been using 4 Google wifi points (Costco 4 pack) for at least a few years. We have a bit of a spread out layout in an older home on a large one acre lot so mesh worked great for us. But, it wasn't incredibly fast and there were still some slow spots and a few outright dead zones even with 4 Google wifi points on a 1gb fiber optic connection. The 1gb fiber connection has no modem, literally fiber to the house connected to cat 5e in the ISP box outside the house, so anything I plug that line into connects to and gets a 1gb up/down; hence it was connected straight to a Google wifi point.

So, I figured I'd add a 4 pack (Costco again) of the new generation nest wifi points since they're compatible with the Google wifi. So got that 4 pack with the router and 3 points. I first deleted my existing wireless network and factory reset all Google wifi points from the home app. Then setup the nest router and started adding points.