cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Google Home app says "Migrate Nest Account" but I don't have a Nest account. Why does it say this?

Androidian
Community Member

Hello.  The home page of my Google Home app shows the message/option "Migrate Nest Account".  But I don't think I've ever had a "Nest" account, only a Google Home account.  Why does the Google Home app show this message/option?  How can I check if I've ever had a Nest account?  When will this message go away?

PXL_20220201_020433682~2.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Androidian
Community Member

No more help needed with this.  Just a bit confusing.  Thanks!

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

davidking
Gold Product Expert
Gold Product Expert

If you started using the Nest app before August 19, 2019, you created a Nest Account to manage your Nest products. You have the option to migrate your Nest Account to a Google Account, creating one unified Google Account that you can use to manage products and homes in both the Nest and Google Home apps.

https://support.google.com/googlenest/answer/9297676


Volunteer since 2011, Product Experts are not Google employees.

GarrettDS
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey there,
Just wanted to jump in here to check to make sure that you saw the response from davidking. Shoutout and huge thank you to davidking for the help here. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns as I will be locking this in 24 hours.

Have a great day.
Garrett DS
 

Thanks.  But I've never had a Nest account.  Why does it show this message?

GarrettDS
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi there, 

Migrating your account may be something that you need to do. For more information on Migration, I'd suggest that you review this article.

 

Please let me know if you have any other questions. 

Best regards, 

Garrett DS

Androidian
Community Member

Thanks. But the message is showing for devices in other accounts besides my main account. And none of my accounts, main or other, have ever had a Nest account. Only a Google account. My question then is why does this message/option show up in the Google Home app? Is it just a default so that everyone is reminded to migrate whether they need to or not? Thanks.

GarrettDS
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi there, 

Yes this is a default reminder message. 

Please let me know if you have any other questions. 


Best regards, 

Garrett DS

GarrettDS
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey there,
Just wanted to see if you still needed help. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Best regards,
Garrett DS

Androidian
Community Member

No more help needed with this.  Just a bit confusing.  Thanks!

GarrettDS
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey folks,
It looks like we have come to a solution so I'm going to be locking this thread. If you have any other concerns or questions, please feel free to create a new thread.

Have a great day.
Garrett DS