cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Cannot turn volume all the way down while live viewing camera

Jenh
Community Member

All of a sudden I cannot lower the volume on the camera to 0 only goes to 10% please help I do see this has been an issue for others in the past but I don’t see a solution anywhere. Up to today it actually was possible. Help!

21 REPLIES 21

Lance_L
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Jenh,

 

Thanks for posting — let's get this sorted out.

 

A few questions: what type of Nest cameras do you have? Do you have an iOS or Android device? Does the issue occur on multiple mobile devices or cameras? Also, has the camera suffered any drops or impacts?

 

Let us know and we'll be happy to help.

 

Best,

Lance

Jenh
Community Member

Hello Lance 

The camera is the latest model I purchased from Google so it is about a year old. My OS is IOS iphone 14 PRO 
no drops have occured and it seems to be all cameras that are viewed within the google home app. If I view my older cameras in the Nest app the volume will go all the way down. So it is specific to the google home app. I am sure it worked in the past because my mom is quite deaf she turns her tv up really loud so when I log into google home to check on her I immediately usually turn the volume all the way down so that I am not blown away by the volume. I noticed this happening starting last week or when I submitted my question. 

Lance_L
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Jenh,

 

Thanks for getting back to us. Let’s try the troubleshooting steps below.

 

  1. Make sure the date and time settings are correct and automatically set. Go to Settings > General > Date and Time > Tap Set Automatically > toggle it off and on.
  2. Go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Google Home. Make sure the Google Home app has permission to use the phone location.
  3. Visit ‎Apple App Store then check if the Google Home  app needs to be updated. 
  4. Check for software updates on your mobile device.
  5. Test if the issue persists on both Wi-Fi and cellular data.
  6. Uninstall the Google Home app then restart the mobile device.
  7. Reinstall the Google Home app and test.

Let us know if that helps.

 

Regards,

Lance

Jenh
Community Member

ThAnk you I will try those steps and let you know !

Lance_L
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello Jenh,

 

I wanted to follow up and see if you still needed help. Please let me know if you are still having any concerns or questions from here, as I would be happy to take a closer look and assist you further.

 

Regards,

Lance

Jenh
Community Member

Ok per your instructions “

  1. Make sure the date and time settings are correct and automatically set. Go to Settings > General > Date and Time > Tap Set Automatically > toggle it off and on.” i tried to do this but there is no date time setting that I can see. FYI I’m technical I could send you a screen shot of what I see 

Lance_L
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey Jenh,

 

Thanks; we appreciate you checking that for us. Do you mind posting a screenshot of what you're seeing in the phone settings?

 

Best regards,

Lance

Jenh
Community Member

Im sorry I don’t get the option to attach a screen shot either how frustrating….

I’m only seeing the following list when I select settings 

General

Device information  

Notifications

Device features

events

video

audio

 

 

Jenh
Community Member

IMG_1049.png

 I have attache’d the screen shot I hope it comes through it didn’t give me the option the first time 

Lance_L
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi Jenh,

 

I apologize for the confusion. For steps 1 and 2, I meant your iPhone settings, not the camera settings. I hope this clears things up.

 

Please keep me updated.

 

Best regards,
Lance

Jenh
Community Member

I’ve tested all things 1-3 will check on cellular vs Wi-Fi also. I toggled google home setting to l ways I had it on while using the app

ill test tomorrOw Wi-Fi and cellular then I’ll uninstall and reinstall the app

Lance_L
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello Jenh,

 

I think that's a great idea. Please keep me informed of your progress.

 

Best,
Lance

Jenelyn_O
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi folks,

 

Chiming in — were you able to proceed with the troubleshooting? Please keep us posted.

 

I appreciate the help, Lance.

 

Thanks,

Jenelyn

Jenh
Community Member

Hello and thank you for checking in I’ve been side tracked with a family issue I should be able to get back in touch after Wednesday next week. I hope at the latest?

thanks 

j

Lance_L
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello Jenh,

 

Sounds like a plan! Let me know if you have any other questions.

 

Thanks for the help, Jenelyn.

 

Cheers,

Lance

Lance_L
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey Jenh,

 

I wanted to follow up and see if you still needed help. Please let me know if you are still having any concerns or questions from here, as I would be happy to take a closer look and assist you further.

 

Regards,

Lance

Jenh
Community Member

Still on hold with other things will follow up when I’ve had a chance to try these fixes

Jenelyn_O
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey Jenh,

 

Thanks for letting us know. No worries, we'll keep this thread open for another few days and we'll wait for your update, but please be advised that as Community Specialists, we occasionally do a bit of housekeeping to keep the conversations in our community fresh and relevant. This includes locking threads after a period of inactivity.

 

I appreciate the help, Lance.

 

Kind regards,

Jenelyn

Jenelyn_O
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi there,

 

It's me again! Checking if you still need help. Please let me know, as I'll be willing to assist you further. 

 

Thanks,

Jenelyn

Jenh
Community Member

Hi I replied apologies or I thought I did  it seems to be working now thank you for your patience !

j

Alex_S
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey there,

 

We're glad to hear that this has been sorted out. As we've got our resolution here, I'm going to mark this thread as resolved. I'll be locking this thread if we don't hear back from you in 24 hours. Should that happen, feel free to create a new one if you have more questions or other concerns in the future.

 

Best,
Alex