cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nest Outdoor IQ Cam - Blue Ring disappears a couple seconds after plugging the camera in

thood1234
Community Member

Hello,

I'm having a problem with my Nest Outdoor IQ Cam.

It seems to have the same symptoms as the person reported in community thread "Nest Indoor IQ Cam - Blue Ring then Turns Off?"

I've been using it fine since 2018.  It was unplugged for an extended period of time due to a home remodel.  Now when I plug it in (different outlet that originally plugged in), the blue ring lights up, but then fades away a couple seconds later never to return until I power cycle it again.

I've tried a different outlet.  Same symptoms.

I cannot factory reset it.  I think the blue light is turning off too fast.  I've held the paper clip in the reset button on the front of the camera below the nest logo for at least 30 seconds immediately after plugging it in.

I've removed the camera from the android app on my phone, nest app.

The power cord is brand new as it's from a new nest outdoor IQ cam I haven't installed yet which was bought in a 2 pack in 2020.  The original power cord from the 2018 camera is run through my attic, but I cannot use it right now as the outlet it's plugged into will require an electrician to fix.  That outlet no longer has power.

Please help.

Thank you,

-- Tom

1 Recommended Answer

EmptyNester
Gold Product Expert
Gold Product Expert

In the lasts 8 years or so I have had (2) IQ cams fail.  I just cut my losses and bought used ones from Ebay and all is good with them.   You can spend hours just wasting time trying to fix a camera that isn't fixable. This might just be the least pain for you as a solution.   Also, in one case I realized the area I was viewing didn't really need the IQ camera.  So I saved money and replaced it with a regular Gen1 Outdoor camera.

View Recommended Answer in original post

9 REPLIES 9

MplsCustomer
Bronze
Bronze

@thood1234