cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

device.state.MotionDetection starter type: is missing in script editor

pete-S
Community Member

I'd like to test some automations triggered by camera motion detection.  I see in the example there's a starter type of 

- starters:
  - type: device.state.MotionDetection

device: sensor - Living Room

state: motionDetectionEventInProgress

is: true

but this option is missing for me at present - it's not in the available list of types in typeahead, and if I manually add it, the editor doesn't understand it's a type.  Any idea why this option is missing?

1 Recommended Answer

Prafulla
Googler
Googler

Hi @pete-S - Camera events as trigger are coming soon to the script editor (as we shared in our announcement post). We will update this community when they are available. 

View Recommended Answer in original post

26 REPLIES 26

sky_razor89
Community Member

I am not an expert but probably your device does not support this feature with google automation.

Could be I guess, but the camera's are Google Nests of various types, so you'd kinda hope they'd be supported, and it would seem odd to not even see the type ahead option on the starter type - that would mean the editor would have to check all of the devices for all the supported actions all the time, which seems like a lot of effort.  Do you see that starter type per chance?

Prafulla
Googler
Googler

Hi @pete-S - Camera events as trigger are coming soon to the script editor (as we shared in our announcement post). We will update this community when they are available. 

pete-S
Community Member

Thanks @Prafulla That would explain it, and I'd missed the coming soon bit.  I was confused because you've already included the camera motion event triggers as examples.

Batwam
Community Member

I would also like to trigger actions based on motion detection.