cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Near Camera 30 day recording, can’t find clip I saved

bill2
Community Member

I saved a couple clips a couple days ago and can’t find them in my clips but find other ones. Any ideas why?  Also, clip was from, 936pm CST on 8.21, so a few days past 30 day recoding limit. Anyone know if Google has a way to pull it still?  Or idea on how to get what app saved was saved?

4 REPLIES 4

MplsCustomer
Bronze
Bronze

In the Nest app, you can go to the camera, click on Clips in the lower right corner, and then select "View clips" from the small pop-up window. This displays clips saved to the Nest server.

If you went into the clip and downloaded it, it depends on where your default downloads folder is. You could try creating a new clip, download it, and then see where it gets downloaded.

Brad
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi there,

 

Sorry for my late response. Thank you for all of your patience while waiting for a reply. I just wanted to make sure that your issue is addressed. I am terribly sorry to hear that you have had such a hard time with this! I would love to look into this issue further and help find a solution for you. First off, I have some questions I’d like to ask you.

  • Do you still need help with this issue?

  • What troubleshooting steps have you done thus far? 

  • Have you tried to restart your device if you haven’t already?

  • If the restart didn’t work, have you tried to do a Factory Reset? This would be a last resort option, but would clear out issues and the device would essentially be ‘brand new’

Please let me know if you need further assistance. 

Best Regards,

Brad.

bill2
Community Member

I think I tried all steps previously recommended. It’s strange but it appears it may not have saved anywhere.  I’ve logged in using computer and phone looking at saved clips, which I do have others by the way, never a problem with that. In the past I’ve always saved from my laptop and save them to the cloud from there.  This was first time I did from my phone. I would get the pop up to save to camera roll or share. I think when that came up when I was trying to save it, I closed out or clicked somewhere else because it said it saved… How ever never showed up anywhere.  Or maybe all it did is appeared it was saved, says "New Clip," and how long, then it says: "When you tap Share link, nest will create a link to your clip.  Anyone with the link can watch it."  I didn't need/want it in my camera roll so I'd bet I hit cancel.  Which I think didn't save the clip?


Options I’m talking about are either: Cancel, Save to Camera roll or share link. I’m guessing I just hit, cancel thinking that it would still save in the cloud, but seems like I need to hit share link for that to actually save to cloud?

bill2
Community Member

I'll add to my last one too.  So I just did a couple tests and if I hit "Save clip," to camera roll it showed up in cloud.  If i clicked save link, and then just clicked on like copy/paste when my iPhone came up with where do I want to save it - it showed up in my video clips in Nest.  But when I hit "cancel," after thinking the clip was saved, it appears it didn't actually save.  I feel if that is how that works - maybe this is an opportunity to more clearly tell someone what is going to happen.  Since it appears clip would've been saved to "video clips," already since has time stamp and it processed like it'll be saved... but if you hit cancel on that screen - I don't believe it saves.  Feel free to let me know or let higher ups know if there is sort of a bug fix that could be addressed, or more acknowledgement of what "cancel," will do after you think you have already saved the clip