cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Google Display not working

SuziOshea
Community Member

Hiya. I have read a few comments on this forum regarding a blank screen with a G in the middle. I have tried to a factory reset twice and both times it came back with a G on the screen after the reboot

 

34 REPLIES 34

Muddi
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,

 

Thanks for these details. I know how challenging it can be not to have a working device when needed. Rest assured that our team is aware of this and is already looking into it. I'd like to gather some details — when did the this start? Are you using the official power adapter that came with the Nest display? Also, have you tried plugging the device to a different power outlet?

 

Please try these steps below that may help you fix the issue:

  1. Place the device in Recovery Mode (unplug the device then hold down (long press) the volume up and volume down buttons while you plug in the device. Release the volume button once the device turns back on.)
  2. Attempt a factory reset once device boots into Recovery Mode (hold down (long press) both volume up and volume down buttons at the same time.)

Let me know how it goes.

 

Cheers,

Muddi

SuziOshea
Community Member
Hey there. Thanks for getting back to me. It only started happening today. It is the original adapter cord and I have tried several power outlets. I have also rebooted it several time. Still nothing. 
 
Thanks
 
Suzi

Muddi
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi SuziOshea,

 

Thanks for the quick response. To confirm, are you able to try the steps I've provided above? Those steps will put your device in recovery mode. If it still the same, please fill up this form with all the needed information then let me know once done.

 

Cheers,

Muddi

cgregory
Community Member

I’m having the same issue

Start a new thread so someone from google can reach out to you and start a case. 

Muddi
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,

 

I just wanted to check if you were able to receive the email as we don't receive a response yet from you.

 

scoke and cgregory: Go ahead and fill up this form as well so I can assist you further with your devices.

 

Let me know once done.

 

Cheers,

Muddi

SuziOshea
Community Member

I’ve sent the email. 

Muddi
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,

 

Thanks for the update. I was able to locate the case created for your concern. I've sent you an email so we can continue from there. Here's the case ID for your reference: 7-1108000032121.

 

For other users having the same issue - if you still have the same issue after trying the steps above, please fill-up the form then let me know once done.

 

Regards,

Muddi

Muddi
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey folks,

 

It's been some time since this thread was updated. Does anyone here need assistance? Let us know by updating this thread, as I'm about to close this after 24 hrs due to inactivity.

 

Cheers,

Muddi

 

 

cgregory
Community Member

Google team had me return display to them. None of the rest’s work for me. Thanks to the google team for help on this issue. 

SuziOshea
Community Member

No one has got back to me. Still have a broken product

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,

 

I wanted to check in and see if you are still in need of any help? Please let me know if you have not heard from our Team, as I would be happy to assist and reach out to them on your behalf.


Best regards,
Jake

SuziOshea
Community Member

No one has helped me. I have filled out the return form then got ignored for months

SuziOshea
Community Member

I filled out the form and have been ignored for about a month. It’s not working and no one has got back to me. 

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,

 

I am sorry to hear you have not heard from our Team. I would be more than happy to review further for you, and ensure they are reaching out. Do you mind me asking if you have obtained a case number I can review? Please let me know, as I would be happy to reach out on your behalf.

 

Best regards,

Jake

SuziOshea
Community Member

Jake I don’t have a case number. I filled out a form, I have followed instructions and then you all ignored me. 

SuziOshea
Community Member

I can’t even reply

I don’t know my case number. I filled out the form, I followed your instructions, then you ignored me for months

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,

 

I am sorry that you have not heard from our Team yet. I did reach out, and they had informed me they are currently working through backlog. I understand this is not the most ideal response, but I do appreciate your patience. Our Team will be in contact with you soon for further support on the issue. Please let me know if you have any other questions from here as well.

 

Best regards,

Jake

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,


I wanted to check in and see if you had any other questions? Please let me know, as I would be happy to assist, and answer any  you may have.

Best regards,
Jake

SuziOshea
Community Member

I still have not heard from a soul. 

SuziOshea
Community Member

Hi Jake. At this point, I would just appreciate some honesty. I have been holding out hope that someone will talk to me and resolve this issue. I’ve given up now. Do I just move on and buy an Apple product? 

SuziOshea
Community Member

Ok Google, stop with the pretense that anyone actually cares about customers. If I reached out to you and said my google display isn't working and you replied, "oh well, just buy a new one!", I would have appreciated your honesty and moved on months ago. The fact that you have kept stringing me along, making promises that someone will be in touch and a replacement will be sent, that's what has driven me mad. Just admit that the whole team is hugely incompetent, you turn far too big of a profit to actually care about any customers on an individual level, and you're not at all sorry for any inconvenience you have caused.  Apple is no better as an organisation than google, but they at least have physical stores with real people and actual phone lines manned by humans. Take note...

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,

 

I am sorry to hear you have not heard from our Team yet. I wanted to follow up, and see if they have reached out yet. I know this is not the most ideal situation, and I would be happy to review.

 

Best regards,

Jake

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,


I wanted to check in with you once again. Please let me know if you have any questions from here as I would be happy to review.

 

Best regards,

Jake

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey Nguonchandy,

 

I wanted to check in with you, and see if you had managed to fill out the form, and you are in contact with our Team for further help? Please let me know, as I want to ensure you are good to go.

 

Best regards,

Jake

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey Nguonchandy,


I wanted to follow back up with you, and ensure you are in contact with our Team. Please let me know, as I want to ensure you are being helped with your issue.

 

Best regards,

Jake

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey Nguonchandy,


I want to ensure you are good to go, and everything is working properly. Please let me know if you are still having trouble, as I will be locking the thread in 24 hours due to inactivity.

Best regards,
Jake

It still not working 

SuziOshea
Community Member

Yes I tried and it’s still not working. I can’t see an attached form 

stanase
Community Member

@Muddi I was told it will take weeks until a senior adviser will review my case of the bricked Hub. With so many instances of the SAME issue why do you need an individual review of each case ?

Muddi
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey SuziOshea,

 

Thanks for reaching out, and apologies for the delayed response.


A case has been created for you. Please check your inbox to confirm.

 

@stanase: Please note that due to current restrictions we have limited support agents available that's why it is possible to take weeks for us to review the case. However, we are doing our best to assist our users as fast as we can. Please provide your case ID if you have a pending case with us, so I can check it immediately.

 

Cheers,

Muddi

SuziOshea
Community Member

Thank you. 

scoke
Community Member

About two weeks ago the nest hub went to a black screen, only the letter "G" appeared and it did nothing else. With the solution number 1 that is in this same post the problem was solved. Now it turned on and I was able to set it up again. Thank you very much for the solution Mudy!!!