cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub stuck on grey ‘g’ screen, factory reset not helped

Tizzle
Community Member

Hub stuck on g screen factory reset brings it back to g screen. Power off overnight, no change. 

1 Recommended Answer

Muddi
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey folks,

 

Thanks for sharing all the details about the issue. 

 

We understand this issue has been happening for quite some time now, but rest assured that our team is aware of this and looking into this issue at hand. Please try to plug in the device to a different power outlet, then attempt a reset.

 

If unresolved, perform the workaround below:

 

  1. At the back of the Nest display, unplug the power cord and wait for 10 seconds, then plug it back in and wait until the screen with the "G" logo shows up
  2. Repeat the first step, 10 more times.
  3. After the customer plugs the power cord back in, wait for the device to reset. The device announces "Welcome to Google Home" to signify that it's ready for setup.

Put your device to recovery mode:

 

  1. Put the device in Recovery Mode (Unplug the device, then perform a long press on the volume up and volume down buttons while the customer plugs the device back in. Once the device turns back on, release the volume buttons.)
  2. Once the device boots into Recovery Mode (a long press on both volume up and volume down buttons at the same time), attempt a factory reset.

 

If the above steps don't work, please reach out to us to get immediate support on this link: https://bit.ly/3adTfGB

 

Cheers,

Muddi

View Recommended Answer in original post

1,517 REPLIES 1,517

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey all,


I want to ensure you are good to go, and everything is working properly. Please let me know if you are still having trouble, as I will be locking the thread in 24 hours due to inactivity. 

Best regards,
Jake

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey all,


It has been a few days since the last reply, and I am going to lock the thread at this time. If you have any questions, please feel free to create a new post. 

Best regards,
Jake

Muddi
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey folks,

 

Thanks for sharing all the details about the issue. 

 

We understand this issue has been happening for quite some time now, but rest assured that our team is aware of this and looking into this issue at hand. Please try to plug in the device to a different power outlet, then attempt a reset.

 

If unresolved, perform the workaround below:

 

  1. At the back of the Nest display, unplug the power cord and wait for 10 seconds, then plug it back in and wait until the screen with the "G" logo shows up
  2. Repeat the first step, 10 more times.
  3. After the customer plugs the power cord back in, wait for the device to reset. The device announces "Welcome to Google Home" to signify that it's ready for setup.

Put your device to recovery mode:

 

  1. Put the device in Recovery Mode (Unplug the device, then perform a long press on the volume up and volume down buttons while the customer plugs the device back in. Once the device turns back on, release the volume buttons.)
  2. Once the device boots into Recovery Mode (a long press on both volume up and volume down buttons at the same time), attempt a factory reset.

 

If the above steps don't work, please reach out to us to get immediate support on this link: https://bit.ly/3adTfGB

 

Cheers,

Muddi

JenniferV
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hi RobCampbell,

 

Thanks for posting. It looks like this issue is the same to this thread that you also created.  I'll duplicate this one and let's continue from there. 

 

Please be advised that this thread will be locked automatically once duplicated in the main one.

 

Thanks,

Jennifer

JillG
Diamond Product Expert
Diamond Product Expert

Hi,

Sorry so many of you are having this issue. I am just a volunteer Nest user here in the Community so not much help I can offer--- but if I were experiencing this on my device I would give phone or chat support a try.  I feel like that has been the best option.  Thanks to those of you above that have given the link for the others on the thread.

Jill

JackOh
Community Member

I am sorry you feel sorry for us, the phone support is all saying sorry as well, Sorry they cannot help because they are not the correct dept. OR they cannot escalate higher, or they will point you back to the same useless support webpage which goes in circles with no resolutions. Google after sales service is terrible. I am sorry for even trying to buy my first ever google product. 

Tamblin
Community Member

Maybe you were selecting the wrong option?  I clicked thru links last night to return my product. Found the option for exchange. Choose the contact via callback. Less than a minute after clicking the button,  my phone rings and it's Google calling me back with a rep. We ran thru so the possible reset steps. I sent her several pics as requested.  And they are servant me the labels to send back the old one.  Once received,  they will send me the new one.  Same model.  

The link should be posted in some of the replies above.  The process took about 30-40 minutes.  Hope that works for you and anyone else reading this.  

I did the same, but through google chat.  Went though sending them a pic and getting the shippling label for my old one, shipped it out last week, and got the new 2nd gen unit yesterday via FedEx.   I did not have receipts since it was a gift, but they just needed the serial # and pics of the unit with the grey G screen and the case # written next to it and they took it from there.  Great customer service.  Here's the link where I started.  

https://support.google.com/googlenest/gethelp?hl=en

 

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey all,

 

I am sorry to hear about the trouble with your device, and for the delayed reply. I wanted to reach out, and ensure you are being helped. I did find a couple troubleshooting steps that may be of help.

 

  1. Make sure the speaker or display is within 15 - 20 feet from the router.
  2. Reboot the speaker or display.
    1. From the speaker or display: (preferred method)
      1. Disconnect the power cable from the speaker or display.
      2. Reconnect power cable back into the speaker or display.
  3. Reboot router.
  4. If the issue is still present, please factory reset the device. 

Let me know if that helps or if the issue is still present from here. 

 

Best regards,

Jake

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey all,


I wanted to check in and see if you are still in need of any help with your device? Please let me know, as I would be happy to assist, and answer any questions you may have.

Best regards,
Jake

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey all,


I want to ensure you are good to go, and everything is working properly. Please let me know if you are still having trouble, as I will be locking the thread in 24 hours due to inactivity. 

Best regards,
Jake

Jake
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey all,


It has been a few days since the last reply, and I am going to lock the thread at this time. If you have any questions, please feel free to create a new post. 

Best regards,
Jake

Oxsa
Community Member

Hi, if someone fixes this please let us know how to solve it. I contacted google with service number 1-7283000031466 and the answer was "Sorry. Theres nothing we can do. " I`ve had this Google hub for 14 months and it seems google doesnt care.......

frances
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello @Oxsa,

 

Thank you for taking the time to post and reach out to Google Support. I am sorry to hear about your situation, I definitely understand your frustration. 

 

If you have any other questions or concerns regarding this issue, I would suggest contacting support one more time through that email as they are the only ones that can help you in this scenario. The support team has a more in-depth view of this situation. 

 

I apologize for the inconvenience caused by this issue and situation.

Gtmracer
Community Member

Hi Frances I’ve done the unplug and reboot with all factory plugs. I did a factory reset5 times but continue to send up on the grey screen.

hawleyjl
Community Member

I had the same problem. Here are the order of events that seemed to work for me: 

1. unplugged the unit. plugged back in while holding both volume buttons. (didn't work - still grey screen)

2. Did #1 a second time, same result.

3. Kept the unit on and then held both volume buttons down until i got a voice prompt from the Hub that it was going to factory reset. Upon reset this time it went through the initial setup page. I don't know if I just got lucky or what. 

Oilypotato
Community Member

I’m having the same issue and nothing has worked. It also started after a power outage and it has never recovered.

frances
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello @Oilypotato

 

Thanks for your post as well. 

I have made a case for you so that you can receive more help from the support team. This will be sent to the email address associated with your community profile. Your Case ID is: 5-4454000031963.

sanatv
Community Member

This is beyond Customer care — they neither have replacement, nor fix or refund. This is manufacturer design defect not an individual warranty case. 

AlyBugg
Community Member

I don't even know how long this has been going on... several weeks at least. I'm so frustrated...

frances
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello @AlyBugg

 

Thank you for your message. I looked into your issue and saw that you contacted Google Support on September 30, 2021 regarding this issue. If you have any other questions or concerns about the issue, please contact the support team again and refer to your Case ID. The support team has a more in-depth view regarding this situation. Just a reminder, your Case ID is: 7-3475000031591.

frances
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello @higgamack

 

Thank you for your message. I looked into your issue and saw that you contacted Google Support on September 30, 2021 regarding this issue. If you have any other questions or concerns about the issue, please contact the support team again and refer to your Case ID. The support team has a more in-depth view regarding this situation. Just a reminder, your Case ID is: 8-5230000032023.

cjster
Community Member

Same issue here - device is stuck on G on a grey screen.  How do I get it replaced?

frances
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello @cjster

 

Thanks for updating us! I am glad to hear that your device is running again.

 

Please let me know if you encounter this issue again, I'll be glad to help. 

cjster
Community Member

Everyone - what worked for me - unplug for 10 seconds, plug in for 10 seconds, repeat until it suddenly boots.  Worked for me on cycle 3.

Gtmracer
Community Member

Tried that and it didn’t work…even held it down for 10cycles

W13
Community Member

I’m having the same issue with no luck. 

frances
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello @W13

 

Thanks for reaching out.

 

I have made a case for you so that you can receive more help from the support team. This will be sent to the email address associated with your community profile. Your Case ID is: 7-9644000031496. 

I'm having the same issue. Unplugging and factory resets have not fixed the issue. I'm very disappointed that this issue has been going on for at least 3 months without a solution.

Tamblin
Community Member

I thought it was a power surge that hairbrush a few days ago, and usually my hub recovers fine,  but now it's a brick. Like everyone else's here.  Looking into contacting Google support now.  

Tamblin
Community Member

So I found Google support for the home hub on the website and chose the return item option.  I chose the callback option and as soon as I hit the button,  my phone ran and it was Google. We ran thru all the reset techniques, all the ones I tried already, but we did again.  So. Many. After all the hoops and about 30 minutes later,  they're sending me a shipping label for my old one.  Once they receive the old one,  they will ship a new one of the same model.  Yay!  

JackOh
Community Member

Where about is that? which country?

I reside in Singapore and basically there is no support! can you believe that!

 

Kbaertl
Community Member

im worse, im  in Kenya))

sanatv
Community Member

Was it under warranty?

frances
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello Tamblin,

 

Thanks for the update! I am glad to hear that your issue has been resolved by getting a replacement device.

 

If you have any other questions or concerns regarding this issue, please contact the support team again with your Case ID. 

Hodge
Community Member

For all those reporting the issue with the grey screen, please report to Google Support (unfortunately this page cannot report it for you). My replacement arrived within 2 days of sending my old one off and they have replaced my 2 year old hub with a 2nd gen one.  Cannot fault their customer service.  (BTW I don't work for google so cannot help in any other way - just passing on my experience) 

AlyBugg
Community Member

GUYS. Just got off the phone with Google Support. Sent a pic and the ID. They are sending out a new one. Easy peasy! CALL THEM!

JordanL
Community Member

Add me too please! Same issue 

frances
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hello @JordanL,

 

Thanks for your message. I have made a case for you so that you can receive more help from the support team. This will be sent to the email address associated with your community profile. Your Case ID is: 9-7983000031779.