Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Google Nest Protect - Refund Status Scotland ?

Community Member

Hi all,


I'm curious if anyone has actually had their promised refund from Google - due to the non compliance of Google Nest Protects in Scotland (though from what I read it's more parts of the world where they have compliance problems now...).


I've been in dialogue with Google since September last year on this topic!  After a very lengthy and the most convoluted process (50+ emails, chat etc, back and forth), I returned our 9x Google Nest Protects to them (as per their request and shipping labels they sent me).  After chasing several times, I was finally told my full refund would take up to another 8 weeks to process (to be fair that was 6 weeks ago).  Still no signs.  Based on past experience, I have zero confidence that Google will complete the refund in the next couple of weeks.  


Google's customer support is so so so broken it's quite unbelievable.  As per other people's experience, I've never ever had such poor service.  I'm assuming Google senior management aren't even aware of the awful customer experience.  I did actually write to Google UK HQ to complain a few months ago, but never got a reply.  Certainly put me off buying from Google again....


I'm majorly out of pocket now, as we replaced our expensive Google Nest Protects with equally expensive but compliant Fire Angel Pro Connected system back in January (BTW - works perfectly, regulation compliant, and unlike Google, their customer service is super fast and easy to deal with!!!). 


Anyway, can anyone confirm if they have actually received their promised refunds from Google 




Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Thank you for all the information @coolju . I'm sorry to hear about your experience. We always want to provide the best experience with both our products and services.


I'm also sorry for any inconveniences this situation may have caused you and thank you for your patience. The refund process has been taking longer than expected as there have been some delays on our end. 


Rest assured that our colleagues will do their best to get the amount to you within the time frame they mentioned. Also make sure that if anything comes up that you reach back out to them by replying to the last email you have from them, they have all the details of the case and should be able to assist you. 

Community Specialist
Community Specialist

HI, I wanted to check in. Is there anything I can try and assist with? Also, if you have a case number I can always try and have a look at your case.

Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Hey there, I haven't heard from you in a while so I'll be locking this thread. If you have any new issues, updates or just a discussion topic, feel free to start a new thread in the community. Thanks, AlexD.